Lately…

Lately things have seemed like a whirlwind…

News that our family is growing…
A complete schedule balancing act…
Change…
A national tragedy.

So many reasons for me to crawl into my bed, under the covers and wonder if I stayed there long enough that maybe everything would be okay. Maybe children would stop killing children…maybe the violence would cease…maybe money would really grow from trees…maybe our country would finally come back to its roots…”in God we trust.”

///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

 Lately I have wondered if it will always be like this…

Busy lives…
Lots of unknowns…
Late nights and early mornings.

Some days I wonder if we are the only ones who are crazy busy, and I don’t think we are, but sometimes it feels like it.

///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

 Lately I have been reminded that I am not in control…

Of my children…
Of the future…
Of anything.

 Try as I may to control where my children go, what they hear, what they see, who they meet, there comes a time that I cannot control them any longer. A time when I have to trust that they are in safe hands. A time that every parent must endure…

///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

I have read a handful of blogs and articles in the past five days about the horrible tragedy in Connecticut. They all come from different angles, perspectives, beliefs, and all carry the weight of 20 young children’s lives cut short, 6 educators who literally saved the lives of so many by giving theirs, and a mother who’s life was ended at the hand of her own son. No matter how many different angles they come from, no one can truly put into words what we are all feeling in our hearts…

 Lately there are a lot of things I don’t know…but all that I need to know is this:

“I will never leave your or forsake you.” –God

…and lately this is all that matters.

Leave a Reply

