If Jesus went to prom…

Oh my goodness. So many things to catch up on and so little time to sit down and write about them.

A few weeks ago, I witnessed one of the most inspiring things I have ever seen (and maybe will EVER see). For those that are familiar with my leap this year, you know that I want to become more involved in the special needs community in hopes of someday pursuing a Masters in Special Education. 

What an amazing opportunity it was to be a part of an “Evening of Enchantment”, the 2012 Special Needs Prom hosted by my church and put on by the Southwest Center for Independent Living. Over 200 special needs students came, prom dresses, tuxedos, limo rides, prom pictures, photo booth, food, and of course dancing…oh the dancing!

I haven’t been to a dance since high school, so at first I sat on the side an just watched…but my feet could not keep from dancing once I jumped in and let loose!

He crowned me before our dance!

This night was a dream come true for so many of these students. One night free of judgement, handicaps, and worries. One night to just let loose and be themselves, and even though the night was intended for them, I think I got more out of it than they did.

///////////////////////////////////////////

Being a part of something that causes you to be self-less is an incredible thing. I think these are the kind of proms that Jesus would attend. That is if he was the dancing type…

One thought on “If Jesus went to prom…

  1. Thanks for the post and your comments. Here at SCIL our youth programs, services and events are growing by leaps and bounds. We couldn’t have done the prom without the folks at Ridgecrest Baptist….amazing what gets accomplished for others when its not all about you getting the credit!!

    Gary Maddox
    Ex. Dir.
    SCIL

Leave a Reply

