no good thing.

Have you ever had a moment when you hear a song and feel like the singer is singing AT you?

I had a “is she talking to me?” moment in the car a few days ago on my way to practice. I was listening to the newest Sara Groves album (quickly becoming my favorite album ever) and wasn’t expecting it. Don’t get me wrong, Sara Groves is probably my all time favorite artist so I usually enjoy her music, but this time was different. The lyrics went like this,

“I believe in a blessing I don’t understand, I’ve seen rain fall on wicked and the just

Rain is no measure of his faithfulness, He withholds no good thing from us”

(Open My Hands by Sara Groves)

I literally played that part over like 20 times making sure I was hearing it right. You see lately I have had a bit of a negative outlook on certain aspects of life. Life can be confusing, at least we make it confusing by thinking we need all this stuff or need to have the right friends. We may have a blessing right in front of us, but do not recognize it because we are looking through our eyes and not our Creator’s eyes. We automatically categorize good things as blessings and bad things as punishment. Take rain for instance. “When it rains, it pours.” Ever heard that quote? I usually hear that from someone in the middle of something difficult. A bad day. A broken down car. Not enough money. A sick loved one. It happens to all of us, whether we believe in God or not. Big, bad rain. While all of these things are not necessarily enjoyable, what if we viewed the rain as a blessing we just don’t understand…yet. Rain brings life. Rain brings refreshment. Rain quenches thirst. Psalms 84 says, “He withholds no good thing from him whose walk is blameless.” That is truth. That is something we can lean on when times are tough. “Rain is no measure of his faithfulness…”

For me, this was exactly what I needed to hear. There is nothing horribly bad happening in my life, but even little things, I tend to get worked up about. What if my blessing is right in front of me? I must take the blinders off and see things through His eyes. I must change my thinking that good things are always good and bad things are always bad. Believe in the blessing, even if I don’t see it or understand it.

Your good thing is waiting for you…(Ps. 84:11)

2 thoughts on “no good thing.

Leave a Reply

