new year. new blessings.

To be honest, the first three days of 2012 have been a bit of a blur for me. We haven’t been super busy, but missing a part of our family of four seems to throw me off way more than I realized. I woke up this morning realizing that I need to blog more. Not because anyone is dying to hear what I have to say, but because writing is a way for me to organize my thoughts and remind myself of all that the Father has done. Seriously, 2011 was a great year for us. Want a recap? (in no specific order)

James started a new job. We joined a new church (RBC). Mya turned one. Mya started walking. Mya started climbing. Mya started talking. Mya started doing everything Anabelle does. Anabelle turned three. Anabelle continued talking more and more. Vacation to Florida. Family deaths. Family bonding. Short trip to New Mexico. James turned 30. James was ordained. James and Abi ran the STL Half-Marathon. Abi trained for a full marathon. Abi got injured. James ran the Bass Pro Marathon in under 4 hours (PR). James and Abi camped to celebrate 4 years of marriage. Anabelle went to see The Nutcracker. Anabelle became obsessed with The Nutcracker. Anabelle changed her name to Clara. Anabelle changed Mya’s name to Fritz. James went to Africa. 

I’m sure I left something out. As you can see we had a busy 2011. My prayer for 2012 has been that we will have more down town as a family. Sometimes busyness is outside of our control, but I want to take every chance we have to STAY HOME and be a family. Home is where our girls are going to learn the most about what matters. Home is where they are going to hopefully see a clear picture of Jesus’ love from their Mommy and Daddy. Home is where they will learn that they are loved and cherished. Home is easy. Home is safe.

Happy New year to you. What is do you want to start doing/stop doing in 2012? Make a list of things that the Father did for you in 2011. When you start to doubt His love or goodness in 2012, pull that list out and read it.

Take a step back, look at the big picture, and realize that “He withholds no good thing from us…” (Ps. 84:11)

 

Leave a Reply

