a little “foot” in the road…

With marathon day being nearly a month away, my worst fear has been injury. I have read countless articles in Runner’s World about how common injuries are in women who are training for their first marathon. I felt like I had pretty good odds because, having been a college athlete, my body should be pretty used to being beat up and abused right? Wrong.

For the past two weeks, I have been dealing with some pretty intense pain in my right foot. It started after our 20 mile run and hasn’t really left me since. I am currently waiting patiently for test results from a bone scan since nothing was clear in the x-ray. So, I guess you could say that I’m pretty bummed at this point. My wonderful husband is so encouraging, telling me that it’s going to be ok and I have plenty of time to get in marathon shape. But two weeks with very little running seems to outweigh his positive attitude in my mind.

So for those of you who believe in prayer, could you add this to your list? It is a big deal to me that I am this close to running a marathon. Never in a million years would I have thought that I would enjoy running so much, and I want this injury to be done and over with so I can get back out on the roads again. God has a bigger plan though and sometimes he puts bumps (or in my case a foot) in the road to get our attention and help us learn perseverance.

What about you? What is your “foot” in the road holding you back from reaching your goals?

One thought on “a little “foot” in the road…

Leave a Reply

