where were you?

I was in Mrs. Neal’s classroom at CHS. It was before school had started. We were more than likely in there annoying her or finishing up homework that was due that day. I distinctly remember hearing someone yell down the hallway, “TURN ON THE TV!” Once the TV was on, I couldn’t take my eyes off of it. My first thought was, “how does a pilot hit a building that big?” Then as the story was unveiled, I realized the seriousness of what had happened. Innocent lives. Dads. Moms. Sisters. Brothers. Heros.
Ten years later and I still can remember. I’m sure we all can. It is probably similar to those that were alive when JFK was assassinated or when Pearl Harbor was bombed. Moments in history that will forever be etched in our minds. I read a book recently called The Long Run. It was written by a runner, who was a firefighter in NYC, and worked at Ground Zero in the months after 9/11. His recollection of the chaos and sadness was eye opening. My mom and I visited Ground Zero the following spring on a choir trip and I remember the solemn atmosphere, months after the attack.
I typically try to avoid being “predictable” with my writing. Everyone in America will probably post something about 9/11 today on Facebook, Twitter or their blog. This time, I’m joining in. Ten years and we are still fighting. Some of the men and women overseas were in elementary school on 9/11. Now they are laying their lives on the line for our freedom and protection, over something that they barely understood when it started. Incredible sacrifice.
Where were you on 9/11? Leave a comment and share. But most of all, don’t let this day pass without honoring those who were lost and those who have died trying to protect you. Write something. Read something. Listen to something. Watch something. Pray.

One thought on “where were you?

  1. I was in my classroom with a group of upcoming leaders, processing moments in time that would forever change our world. My heart was heavy but I did not feel the impact of that day’s events until I stood with my daughter at Ground Zero, seeing first hand the scope of the devestation to the area, reading notes at the makeshift memorial, and talking to New Yorkers about the tragedy. American soil was attacked by those with evil intent and American’s grew in empathy that day for other countries that are still experiencing the attack of evil God Bless us and may we never become apathetic!

Leave a Reply

