Real Life: two year old

A few months ago I walked into our toy room (aka tornado alley) and watched Anabelle sing “The B-I-B-L-E” while standing on a Bible. You know how it goes:

“The B-I-B-L-E, yes that’s the book for me, I stand alone on the Word of God, the B-I-B-L-E!” 

She was simply doing what the song was talking about, STANDING on the Bible. I love how literal she approaches life right now. It not only makes for some hilarious conversations, but she has no idea how much she is challenging me. Life has somehow caused me to over think everything. Media has taught me to be cynical about what I read and hear. Everything that comes in goes through the filter of self and then it is either processed or as they say, “in one ear and out the other.”

My two year old seems to have it figured out when it comes to following Christ. God’s Word is pretty black and white when it comes to living a holy life. He has given us this Book to follow…literally. I looked up the definition of “literal” and found that it means, “following the words of the original very closely or exactly.” Now I have no intention of getting into a theological discussion about understanding God’s Word and how we are to interpret it. I firmly believe that His Word is written to meet everyone where they are and to speak to every kind of person in every kind of situation. But, I am of the belief that if we are truly Christ followers then we must follow the Words of Christ, exactly. Too often I find myself trying to figure out how I can do what He says, but still be comfortable. Or how I can fit the Creator God into a box that works for me. I read His Word, and skim over the stuff that may require me to get out of my comfort zone and I miss out on His blessing.

I want to “stand alone on the Word of God.” Literally. To live my life through the lens of God’s Word. Instead of the filter of self, let the filter of Scripture be the deciding factor in what enters my mind, soul, and household. This means I must treasure His Word so much more than I am today.

watching cartoons with her Bible in hand (not a posed picture!)

Anabelle recently got a “big girl Bible” at my parents’ church. No pictures, no shortened stories, no cartoon Jesus, Noah, or Jonah. Just the Word. She has since carried it around with her and “reads” it randomly throughout the day. She is delighted at the fact that she has the Bible. When I ask her what it says, the usual response is (no lie), “The Word of God says…” If a two year old can treasure a book that she barely understands, then how could I go a day without reading it? I know the truth inside, I know the promises that He gives, yet I let days go by without truly delighting in His Word.

 

May this challenge you and may we all step up. Stand on His Word. Delight in His Word.

Leave a Reply

