Real Life: two year old

Can I just tell you how proud I am of my girls? I know…I know…I’m their mom I’m supposed to be proud but man, my girls are special. Anabelle’s favorite song right now (outside of the ones she makes up) is My Favorite Things from the movie The Sound of Music. She knows every word and sings it pretty much non-stop. For those of you who know her, she is all about crowd participation and will encourage you to sing with her unless you either don’t know the song OR you sing the wrong words. When this happens, she will stop the song, correct you, AND start back at the beginning.

Now, every once in a while she gets all future songwriter on us and creates her own version just for laughs. Did I mention she’s pretty much the coolest 2 year old you’re gonna find? Seriously, what 2 year old do you know has comedic timing down to an art?

Anyway, a couple of weeks ago we had family in town for a funeral and she was in the spotlight and loving it. I’m not the kind of parent that pushes their child to perform in front of family and friends, honestly she does this all on her own. If you are friends with my on Facebook, my sister-in-law posted a video of this live, her own original version of My Favorite Things. I’m working on getting the video to post on here soon. If you’d like to see the video it’s posted here.

Aren’t kids so much fun? I am so blessed to spend every day with my girls. There is no other place I would want to be, well except maybe if we lived somewhere with less humidity, but that’s a whole different issue. I hope if you have kids you enjoy yours as much as I do mine. If you don’t, then you’re missing out. Give them a microphone and let them sing. They have something to sing about and they want you to hear it!

Leave a Reply

