Listen to This: Sara Groves

 If you know me well, then you know that music is important to me. I am a firm believer that God speaks to people in different ways. I also believe that he speaks through people in different ways. For me it has always been music.

Sara Groves’ music speaks to my soul, and I don’t say that lightly. Her lyrics are poetic and I truly believe that she writes what God tells her to. She goes beyond the clichés and writes straight from her heart.

I first listened to her music in college. Her father, Dwight Colbaugh, was a professor at Evangel and I had him for a few of my Bible classes. He would always brag about her so finally one day I looked her up and was immediately drawn to her simplicity.

I think now that I am a mom I appreciate her music so much more. She writes about her kids, her husband, life, God, and not just on a surface level. James took me to see her last winter at when she was at Remington’s and I wanted the concert to last three more hours! Her presence is humble and she only has one desire – to worship her Creator. I love this about her. She isn’t in it for fame or success; she wants her music to speak. Oh how it speaks to me! Try her out…this girl can sing : )


One thought on “Listen to This: Sara Groves

Leave a Reply

