Aftermath…

(this is a serious post. here’s your warning. i promise a light-hearted post soon.)

My heart has been so heavy for the past week. On May 21, we received news that a dear friend from church, Grace Stanton, was tragically taken to be with Jesus in a car accident. Then on May 22, as we were processing Grace’s death, we were at my in-laws’ house in the basement waiting out a tornado warning, when my mom called and said that Joplin had been hit with a tornado. Little did I know the devastation that the EF-5 tornado had caused.

Pictures are all I have seen of the tornado damage, and I am speechless. The following day I felt like I was in a daze. I was emotional, sad, confused, and ached for those affected. I wanted to do something. I wanted to go help. I wanted to close my eyes and wish it all away…

It’s funny to look at the world through a two year old’s perspective. A few days after the tornado, Anabelle noticed a picture I was looking at online of some of the damage. She asked me what it was and I tried to explain what a tornado was. I told her that there were a lot of girls and boys who had lost their houses and all their toys and that we needed to pray for them. Here is a little of our conversation:

Anabelle: Mommy, what is that picture?

Me: It’s a town called Joplin and they had a tornado.

Anabelle: Where is the tomato?

Me: Not tomato, tornado. It was on Sunday but it’s gone now.

Anabelle: Oh, what did it do?

Me: It hurt a lot of people and families…some boys and girls lost their houses and their toys.

Anabelle: Are their toys broken?

Me: Yeah, broken or lost.

Anabelle: We need to fix their toys Mommy..

Isn’t it funny how simple it is in her mind? The toys are broken, let’s fix them. If only we could so simply help the families in Joplin fix their “toys.” In a two year old’s world it is that simple. She has since asked numerous times to pray for Joplin, all on her own. It is amazing to see her heart swelling with compassion and genuine concern. I learn so much from that girl.

Unfortunately things aren’t always so simple. We can’t close our eyes and fix Joplin. We won’t wake up in the morning and see Grace Stanton again. The only thing we can lean on and know to be true is that God is God. His mercies are new every morning and He knows. He is in control. Not me, not the weather, not car accidents, not people, not the government. HE is GOD. Rest on this truth Joplin. Rest in His care Stanton family.

One thought on “Aftermath…

  1. Jesus is in the boat with us, no matter how wild the storm is, and He is at peace. “He arose, and rebuked the wind, and said unto the sea, Peace, be still.” Mark 4:39

Leave a Reply

